parliament_0On 19 June 1961, the Amir of Kuwait, Shaikh ‘ Abd Allah Al-Salim Al-Sabah announced the termination of the 1899 Agreement with Britain for being inconsistent with the sovereignty and independence of Kuwait’.

The first act the Amir performed shortly after independence was declared was to issue an Amir decree calling for the election of a Constituent Assembly to draft a constitution for Kuwait to be based on ‘democratic principles taken from the realities and objectives of Kuwait’, and to present it to the Amir for his approval within a period of one year, it took the Assembly seven long sessions to conclude discussion of the draft constitution which was finally presented to the Amir on 9 November 1962, who immediately approved it without amendment on 11 November 1962.

The system of government was to be ‘ democratic, under which sovereignty resides in the people, the source of all powers.’ The individual rights of property, capital, and work were considered fundamental constituents of the social structure of the state and of national wealth. The national economy was to be based on social justice and on co-operation between public and private activities.
The system of government was based on the principle of the separation of powers ‘in co-operation with each other’. Legislative power was invested in the Amir and the cabinet and judicial power was invested in the courts. The Amir was the head of state whose person was immune and inviolable and would exercise his powers through his ministers who were collectively and individually responsible to him. He was also to declare defensive war by decree as offensive war was prohibited. The Amir had the right to initiate, sanction, and promulgate laws. No law could be promulgated unless it had been passed by the National Assembly (Kuwait Parliament) and was sanctioned by the Amir.

The National Assembly (Kuwait Parliament) would is composed of fifty members (ten from each of the five districts) in addition to those Ministers who were not elected (up to one third of the elected members). Each Assembly member is a member of the National Assembly (Kuwait Parliament) has the right to initiate bills and to address to the prime minister and the ministers questions and interpellations with regard to matters falling within their competence. Ministers were made individually responsible to the National Assembly (Kuwait Parliament) for the affairs of their ministries. Withdrawal of confidence from a minister required an absolute majority of the 50 members constituting the Assembly excluding ministers (not the majority of only those present). If the National Assembly (Kuwait Parliament) decided, in the same manner, that it could not co-operate with the prime minister the matter would be submitted to the Amir who could either relieve the prime minister of office and appoint a new cabinet, or dissolve parliament..

Al-SeifPalace_0In choosing a system of government for Kuwait the Constituent Assembly was aware that there were two main systems before it, one parliamentary and the other presidential, and thus attempted to incorporate what it considered to be the best aspects of both. It first sought to incorporate, the concept of cabinet responsibility before parliament by making the cabinet responsible before the Amir and the National Assembly (Kuwait Parliament).
The Amir as the head of state is a symbol of respect who remains above responsibility and exercises his powers through, his ministers. The Constituent Assembly then gave members of the Assembly the right to question the prime;  Minister and his ministers Mindful, however, of what it ‘considered’ to be the pitfalls of the parliamentary system, the Committee put certain restraints on them. ‘It did that’. In the hope of ensuring greater stability, a main feature of the presidential system.

parliament_0Am 19. Juni 1961 gab der Amir von Kuwait, Shaikh `Abdallah Al-Salim Al-Sabah die Auflösung des Abkommens von 1899 zwischen Grossbritannien und Kuwait bekannt, weil es unvereinbar mit der Souveränität und Unabhängigkeit von Kuwait ist.
Kurz nach der Erklärung der Unabhängigkeit erliess der Amir als erstes eine Amir Verordnung, um eine verfassungsgebende Versammlung einzuberufen, die die Verfassung ausarbeitet, „basierend auf demokratische Prinzipien, vereinbar mit der Realität und den Zielvorstellungen von Kuwait“. Diese sollte innerhalb eines Jahres dem Amir zur Genehmigung vorgelegt werden. Die Versammlung benötigte sieben lange Sitzungen bis der Verfassungsentwurf fertig gestellt war. Schliesslich konnte der Entwurf am 9. November 1962 dem Amir vorgelegt werden und wurde von ihm ohne Änderungen am 11. November 1962 sofort genehmigt.
Das Regierungssystem  sollte demokratisch geführt sein wobei die Souveränität im Volk liegt; die Quelle jeglicher Kraft (Stärke). Die individuellen Eigentums- Vermögens- und Arbeitsrechte wurden als wesentliche Bestandteile der sozialen Staatsstruktur und des Nationalvermögens betrachtet. Das Volkswirtschaftssystem sollte sich auf die soziale Gerechtigkeit und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen öffentlichen und privaten Tätigkeiten stützen.
Das Regierungssystem beruhte auf dem Prinzip der Gewaltenteilung „in gegenseitiger Zusammenarbeit“.
Die gesetzgebende Gewalt übernahm der Amir und das Kabinett sowie die richterliche Gewalt übernahmen die Gerichte.
Der Emir, dessen Person geschützt und unantastbar ist, war das Staatsoberhaupt und wandte seine Kompetenzen mittels seiner Minister an, die gemeinsam oder individuell ihm gegenüber verantwortlich waren. Er sollte auch Verteidigungskriege mittels Verordnung erklären, da Angriffskriege verboten waren. Der Amir hatte das Recht Gesetze einzuführen, zu sanktionieren und zu verkünden. Kein Gesetz konnte erlassen werden, bevor dieses nicht von der Nationalversammlung (Kuwait Parlament) verabschiedet wurde und nicht bevor der Amir seine Zustimmung gab.

Die Nationalversammlung (Parlament Kuwait) besteht aus fünfzig Mitgliedern (zehn aus jedem der fünf Bezirke) zusätzlich zu den Ministern, die nicht gewählt wurden (bis zu einem Drittel der gewählten Mitglieder). Jedes Ratsmitglied ist Mitglied der Nationalversammlung (Parlament Kuwait) und hat das Recht Gesetzesvorlagen zu erarbeiten und an den Ministerpräsidenten zu richten und den Ministern Fragen und Interpellationen im Hinblick auf Angelegenheiten, die in ihre Zuständigkeit fallenden anzugehen. Die Minister gegenüber der Nationalversammlung (Parlament Kuwait) individuell verantwortlich für die Angelegenheiten ihrer Ministerien. Der Vertrauensabzug eines Ministers erforderte die absolute Mehrheit der 50 Mitglieder, welche die Versammlung bilden ausgenommen Minister (nicht nur die Mehrheit der Anwesenden). Wenn die Nationalversammlung (Parlament Kuwait) in der gleichen Weise beschloss, dass sie nicht mit dem Ministerpräsidenten zusammenarbeiten könnte, würde der Fall dem Amir vorgelegt werden, welcher entweder den Ministerpräsidenten seines Amtes ablösen und ein neues Kabinett ernennen oder das Parlament auflösen würde.
Al-SeifPalace_0Bei der Auswahl eines Regierungssystems für Kuwait war sich die verfassungsgebende Versammlung bewusst, dass es zwei Hauptsysteme davor gab, ein parlamentarisches und ein vorsitzendes. Folglich versuchte die Versammlung von beiden Systemen die besten Aspekte zu übernehmen. Es hat sich zunächst bemüht, das Konzept der Kabinettszuständigkeit bevor das Parlament zu errichten indem das Kabinett vor dem verantwortlich vor dem Amir und der Nationalversammlung (Kuwait Parlament) gemacht wird. Der Amir als Staatsoberhaupt ist ein Symbol des Respekts, der über der Verantwortung bleibt und seine Kompetenzen mittels seine Minister ausführen lässt. Die konstituierende Versammlung gab dann Mitglieder der Versammlung das Recht, den Premierminister zu befragen.
Frage; Minister und seine Minister eingedenk, aber von dem, was er “als” bis die Fallstricke des parlamentarischen Systems sein, legte der Ausschuss bestimmte Beschränkungen auf sie. “Es tat. In der Hoffnung, eine größere Stabilität, ein Hauptmerkmal des präsidentiellen Systems und in der Hoffnung auf die Erhaltung der nationalen.